Welcome everyone to my new and first ever blog! 
I guess I'll start by sharing a little bit about myself. I am a small town girl from Fort Atkinson, Iowa. Currently, I live in Cedar Falls where I am a junior at the University of Northern Iowa. My major is Electronic Media with a minor in Journalism. I began my college career with an Education major then moved to Nursing for it's practicality but that did not last long haha. It was then I found UNI's electronic media program and have never looked back! My dream is to be a TV News Anchor one day but know I will have to work hard to get there. 

Last summer I scored an internship with the local TV station, KWWL. I was so excited to have this opportunity and counting down the days until it started, but one day I received a call from their news director saying that it wasn't going to work out because of insurance purposes. I was really let down but I couldn't really do much about it. During the following Fall semester I received an email saying that Quincy (KWWL's Corporate Company) is going to start offering paid internships. Needless to say I jumped at this opportunity and applied the same day to work in the KWWL news station. Being that I received the internship already and it didn't work out I had a really good feeling about it this time. Months passed and I was beginning to lose hope and thinking that they already found someone else.

I am a very persistent person, so I emailed the news director. When I didn't get a reply after a few weeks I called and they said they still have not chosen. A few weeks later I received the call saying I was going to be the first Quintern (Intern) for the Quincy company in the KWWL newsroom!!! And here I am. I am a few weeks into the internship and loving every minute of it. 

With being the first Quintern, it has been a whirlwind of excitement. I have already had many opportunities and shining moments that I want to share and do not want to forget. This is what has sparked my blog. I want to record all of the experiences that I encounter on my way to the top and give advice along the way for those who are also chasing after a career in the media industry. Much of the advice and inspirational pieces I will share will be applicable to any career path! I hope many of you will join me on this journey because it is going to be one with many ups and downs but it is going to be one hell of a ride! 
Tim huinker
1/25/2012 02:11:41 pm

Very nice katie :) proud of you :)

Reply
Lyle Huinker
1/26/2012 03:34:23 am

Good luck Katie, very proud of you!!!!

Reply
Chris Huinker
1/25/2012 02:16:10 pm

If you meet Ron Burgundy, please get me his autograph.
Haha. Good luck Katie!

Reply
Patience Lensing
1/27/2012 12:38:30 pm

LOVING LOVING this! Such an inspiration you're becoming. :D So excited to be right along with you on this path you are embarking on! And to be able to catch up on all the things I don't get to hear about right when you get home because I'm in bed or something like that ;) Blessed to have you as my best friend!
SO proud of you! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.